Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

6 Bay Area Counties Require “Non-Essential” Business Operations Cease

This afternoon 6 San Francisco Bay Area counties ordered that residents must shelter in place, and that all non-essential business operations will be required to cease. This order was enacted to help prevent the continued spread of the COVID-19 virus. The affected counties are Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Francisco, Alameda, Contra Costa, and Marin. The entire order can be read HERE.

Under the Order of the Health Officer, essential businesses, and the industries that supply essential businesses are allowed to continue operations. The important sections within the document that define which businesses are considered essential are as follows:

f. For the purposes of this Order, “Essential Businesses” means:

ii. Grocery stores, certified farmers’ markets, farm and produce stands, supermarkets, food banks, convenience stores, and other establishments engaged in the retail sale of canned food, dry goods, fresh fruits and vegetables, pet supply, fresh meats, fish, and poultry, and any other household consumer products (such as cleaning and personal care products). This includes stores that sell groceries and also sell other nongrocery products, and products necessary to maintaining the safety, sanitation, and essential operation of residences;

xv. Businesses that supply other essential businesses with the support or supplies necessary to operate;

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us directly at (916) 446-7843.

More to explore